Simple DIY Deer Head Mount

Final_DeerHead-3

 

Hello and welcome to another Inspiration Friday project. This one was super quick and really simple to make. I hope you enjoy it.  I also hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday. May  you be blessed with family, friends, and good health all the year through and on.

DeerHead-1

 

Supplies: wood slice from Hobby Lobby or Michaels or any other craft store, deer head ornament from Garden Ridge A.K.A At Home, 2 nails, hammer, decoupage or modpodge, paint and/or scrapbook paper.

DeerHead-2 DeerHead-3 DeerHead-4

I LOVE this paper pack which you can find here in my Etsy shop. There were so many fun choices to choose from but I finally decided to use the deer head mount themed paper.

DeerHead-5 DeerHead-6

I used DecoArt Decoupage and love how it sealed the paper so well to the wood slice. It did give a nice shine to it too. I painted the other side of the wood slice in case I wanted to change up my decor and mount the head on a plain painted background.

There are so many options to decorate your wood slice with such as, wood burning, photo transfer, paint a cute scene, hot glue a design and paint over it, etc.

DeerHead-7

The deer head ornament has two slots on the back so that it can be hung versus just dangling on a tree as an ornament. Hammer the two nails in, hang the head and bam…you have a very quick and simple deer head mount. LOVE!

Here is a shot of it from the side angle. (Please ignore the 80’s popcorn ceiling) 😉

Final_DeerHead-5

To hang this mount, I screwed in two of those eyelet screws, ran a ribbon through them and tied a bow.

Here is a shot of it hanging on our wall above our 80’s mantel. 🙂 I will update this pic as soon as we finish decorating around it. I even thought about going to the store and getting two more heads to mount and hang next to this one but that may be a bit much for now. By the way, these ornament deer heads come in silver, gold and I think another color other than white.

Final_DeerHead-2

Well I hope you enjoyed this simple DIY tutorial and encourages you to go out and make one of your own. I would love to see what you came up with if you decide to do this fun craft project.

Until next Friday…

Peace, love & bliss,

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

