Create a Peerless Watercolor Book

Happy Friday my creative friends!

I promise I have not forgotten about you. School and the kiddos are keeping me running. It is only February and everything seems crazy lately. Have you been feeling it too? If so, I hope peace greets you soon.

Today I wanted to show you how I created a watercolor book made with Peerless watercolors. (Please forgive me for the quality of these pics. They were taken with my iPhone.)

Jane Davenport is a huge fan of these watercolors and one of her classes I took got me into them too. I’m about to start a new journal journey…Bible journaling and I wanted to have a pretty little booklet of these watercolors to travel with me. Let’s get started!

PeerlessWCBookCover

Supplies I used:

  • 1 sheet of watercolor paper (9×12)
  • 1 sheet of transparency film
  • 1 sheet of cardstock
  • paper cutter
  • laminator
  • peerless watercolors
  • tape/glue runner
  • crop a dile
  • 1 white eyelet
  • 2mm elastic approximately 11 3/4″ long
  • Tim Holtz charm
  • Heidi Swapp small memory file

PeerlessWCBook1

PeerlessWCBook11

PeerlessWCBook8

PeerlessWCBook3

First step is to cut the white card stock down to fit on the inside of the memory file. Mine measured 5″x7″. Once the card stock was cut into (2) separate 5″x7″ sheets, I glued them down on the inside of the memory file. Then I took this memory file and ran it in my laminator machine.

PeerlessWCBook2

Next I cut my watercolor paper and transparency film down to 7″x10″ and folded the watercolor paper in half. I did not fold the transparency film in half at this point. I took the two sheets, one on top of the other, laid it flat inside the memory file and sewed straight down the middle with sewing machine. Once this booklet is sewn together, then fold. Don’t worry about it not closing. It will take time for the lamination to relax plus I am going to show you how to make a strap to go around this booklet so it will close.

PeerlessWCBook4

Now my booklet is ready to have the Peerless watercolor sheets glued onto the watercolor paper. I cut each watercolor sheet into approx. 1″x1 1/2″ rectangles. They are definitely not cut perfect but that is okay with me.

Tip:  I'm using this clip to hold down my sheets while I use watercolors.
Tip: I’m using this clip to hold down my sheets while I use watercolors.

PeerlessWCBook6

The last page of watercolor sheet also has watercolor sheets glued onto it. In total I have 4 sheets filled with Peerless watercolors. Yum! Tomorrow I will be adding strips of color above each watercolor sheet. All you do is take a wet brush, grab some color off the watercolor sheet and paint a strip above the sheet. You can name it too if you want. Here is an example of another booklet I made about a year ago.

PeerlessWCBook7

Now it is time to add our pretty charm and elastic band. I took the crop a dile tool and punched a hole on the backside of the memory file. It was punched closest to the edge not middle of file. Then with the same crop a dile tool, I punched the eyelet into the hole. I threaded the 2mm elastic through the charm and then through the eyelet and knotted it. Tada!

PeerlessWCBook9

Now this booklet closes securely with this pretty little charm and elastic band.

Please feel free to share your booklet if you make one. I’m constantly on Instagram so be sure to hashtag me: #KarmasJourney and add me as a friend (@KarmasJourney). I love the people I meet on there!

If you have any questions please let me know and I will be of help as best as I can. Hope you have a great weekend! Stay warm!

Peace, Love & Bliss,

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

